Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that thia would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a discussion regarding different views on improving public health, while one group of people raised the importance of building more sports facilities, the other group believed it would not be effective and requested other ideas to be implemented. Despite the increasing number of sports facilities that would help people to exercise more and help improve their health, there are other methods also that need to be explored to not only improve the physique but also the mental health of the public. Some people do not have the luxury to be able to exercise in their homes. This is where sports facilities play a big role by providing them value of a place where they could focus on training in addition to the equipment needed like bench press machines for weightlifting. In addition to that, people also tend to exercise more in the sports facility because of positive reinforcement or peer pressure from others. For example, in Jakarta, after the government opened the access to running track of the football stadium in the centre of the city, more people especially employees who worked nearby, decided to run with their group of friends while waiting for afternoon traffic to be dismissed. Furthermore, the independent study summarized that those changes impacted in growing Jakarta's health indicator by 10%. However, while the physique is one of the important aspects of health, there is another part that needs to be improved and maintained, which is mental. While the previous approach help people in a physical way, it could not reach much on mental health improvement. Problems like stress due to overwork or life pressure, for example, could not be solved by exercise only and need other types of solutions like holidays, supporting groups, work-life balance, etc. For instance, in the same city, Jakarta is well known as one of the cities with congested traffic in the world causing employees to go to the office early and arrive home late. The other independent study said this problem was one of the main drivers of high stress level of Jakarta's workers, which later reduced drastically after the government stated new regulations for working from home. In conclusion, the development of more sports facilities benefits public health but there are additional methods that need to be implemented to improve it more effectively.