Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Discipline plays a vital role in every individuals life, but beating children on the name of discipline is not a good thing. However, some people believe that physical punishment is the best way to make their child well mannered. This essay intends to elaborate on the reasons why I completely disagree with the statement, in upcoming paragraphs. Parents think that smacking infants will help to raise a disciplined human being because punishment gives them a long lasting pain and in order to avoid punishment children will behave properly. Moreover, elder people says that if there will be no beating or smacking, children will be fearless and would do unethical things such as drugs. For instance, an article published, in The Hindu newspaper revealed that spoiled children are more likely to get involved in criminal activities. Thus, all of these reasons have made parents believe in the power of smacking. On the flip side, beating children for the sake of discipline is completely unacceptable. Young people are very sensitive, so smacking can effect their mental health which further leads to depression and anxiety issues. Adding to this, the infants will start disliking their parents and there is a possibility that they might run away from their house. Instead of loving their parents, child will be afraid of them. For example, a survey was conducted by Colombian University, USA, in 2021, which showed that the ratio of psychological issues among children is mounting by 11% every year. Overall, the idea of punishing child is illogical. To sum up, it can be analyzed from the above discussion that why physical punishment is never a good way to raise a child. In my opinion, lesson of discipline should be taught be love and care.