Some people think that the best way to be successful in life is to get a university education. Others disagree and say this is no longer true. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that success is determined by a University education, whilst other's believe that success is a combination of multiple factors. In this essay I will discuss why I do not agree with this notion and form a conclusion. Firstly, the term success can be defined in various terms for different people. For instance, in terms of education or wealth. Obtaining a University degree could be a form of academic validation that one has been working towards their whole life. Furthermore, the majority of competitive specialties require the need for tertiary education, for example medicine. If one is able to become a Doctor due to their academia then they have surely achieved success. Secondly, studying from a higher facility opens pathways across the globe for that person, for example they are more likely to be offered an occupation in a high paying country like America. This ensures that they will earn a respectable living as well as occupation, which are two things that define success. On the other hand, with the development of social media and the advancement of technology, there are many who are now performing outstandingly. Social media platforms, such as Youtube have enabled people to build business empires and inspire millions across the globe. Moreover, many have the likelihood of becoming millionaires, which is an achievement within itself. In addition to this, there are many other educational avenues that can now be pursued instead of University, for example, Apprenticeships. By pursuing this avenue an individual can learn all the skills they require, for a marginal cost. There is also a greater possibility of an earlier career, therefore enabling them to earn a decent living before graduates. In conclusion, it seems advisable that success is gathered through new technological advances and educational routes rather than just through University.