In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

In most of the games players these days are more attracted towards the intake of drugs which helps to enhance their capability. There are some reasons such as mental pressure and sometimes due to tough competition among competitors pushes them to use illegal substances. There are possible solutions for these causes such as enforcing strict penalties and starting awareness campaign. The primary cause is mental pressure over the players by their trainers or teammates to win the game at any cost. So, most player being afraid of being kicked out due to performance, then some of the players intake illegal substances to boost their performance. Another reason which inhibits competitors to use banned chemicals is the competition between different teams. For instance, In the game named as Kabaddi, recently some of the players were under influence of drugs before the match which helps them to improve their physical activities. The first solution to the above causes is enforcing strict fines if someone is found guilty in taking drugs to boost their energy before the game. The government must conduct regular DOPE checks for the players prior to their training and final game. The second solution to halt this can be done by conducting awareness campaign at local level under supervision of local municipality. Majority of people will get aware about consequences of taking illegal drugs. For example, survey report by New Delhi says that, decline in percentage has been observed in taking banned chemicals after the awareness rallies have been organised. To sum up, most of players uses drugs under mental pressure, whereas some of them use because of tough competition among teams. The solutions to decrease the intake of chemicals by players is by imposing harsh/strict fines and by organising awareness campaigns.