Some educators believe that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are some educational authorities that believe that every child should learn how to play an instrument. In this essay I will discuss why I disagree with this notion and form a conclusion. Firstly, the art of learning a new instrument requires dedication, hard work and self discipline. If these core values are instilled into the youth at a young age, they are more likely to carry such important traits into their adult lives. Furthermore, the majority of occupations require hard work, determination and grit so, if a child already exhibits such traits he will be more likely to succeed in the world of work. Secondly, many competitive fields, such as Medicine require additional accolades rather than just educational ones. If they have achieved a remarkable musical standard, then they are able to compete for the top jobs. Moreover, they are able to stand out against their competiton and set themselves apart from their peers. On the other hand, the deliberate force yielded onto a child to learn an instrument, when they have no such interest, can manifest as feelings of loathing and self contempt. Often, if a young person is co erced into a subject they don’t want to do, they will never try their best or feel enjoyment. This can later make a youth feel inferior when they start performing badly in such a subject. Additionally, there may be other avenues, such as sports that are of more interest to them. However, due to the fact that they are learning a different skill, like music they will have no time for their physical pursuits. This will likely cause resentment. In conclusion, it is advisable that other avenues are explored than just music as, this can create negative feelings in a child and cause resentment to that field.