Nowadays a large amount of advertising is aimed at children. Some people think this can have negative effects on children and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Currently, there are a lot of advertisements targeting children. People are debating whether this is appropriate or not in terms of the social norms and values own by our society. Before I share my view about this topic, let me briefly explain both perspectives first. For those who are supporting this situation, they argue that companies have the right to make their products popular to everyone, including children. This will help them to raise more profits and potentially give better services. Moreover, this situation will also create more job opportunities and improve the welfare of the people. In addition to that, they also believe that children should learn to prioritize buying the things that are urgent in their life. This will make them much smarter to handle their money later in life. For instance, if people can learn to manage their financial capability from their childhood, then there is a high probability that they will grow up as a very successful person in the future since they can handle their money well. However, the opponents of this topic say that it is not okay to have many advertisements that can be easily seen and reached by children. The reason for that is because children itself by nature cannot decide by themselves since their cognitive capabilities are not there yet. For example, a child can see smoking advertisement in front of his/her home leading to a chance of sudden curiosity of that child to also smoke. This is dangerous due to the toxic chemical nutrients contained in that product. If it is consumed by our children, the risk beyond our imagination. Therefore, I strongly argue that all advertisements should be put in places that are only accessible to those who are already mature to avoid any risk of harming our children. Even though there is a potential to raise a lot of money if companies put their advertisements in many places, they need to consider the negative impact that can be caused by that action. This will also increase the personal branding of the companies who are being careful of the norms and principles held by society. To close my argument, let me remind you with an old saying "To raise a child, we need the help from all villagers".