Nowadays, artificial intelligence is being used to drive cars. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

Artificial Intelligence (AI) has taken a significant role in self-driving cars. This is due to the fact that AI can reduce car accidents caused by human errors. This breakthrough should be seen as a positive development as AI can enhance the safety of the passengers. The AI, which is plugged into the self-driving cars can effectively decrease car accidents caused by the drivers ' errors. Moreover, it is said that AI can endure better responses than humans reflect towards emergencies, as it allows the system to detect and handle various unpredicted conditions. It can produce a "beep" sound that makes the passengers aware when something is wrong or stops the car automatically to avoid a car crash. For instance, some busy areas in the US such as New York, L.A., and Washington DC have deployed self-driving taxis while equipped with the AI technology as described above. The data showed that there was only one car crash during the deployment of the taxis in a year, whilst previously there were 50 accidents caused by manual taxi drivers. Furthermore, this phenomenon should be seen as a positive development since AI can enhance the passenger's safety. Through the technology offered by the AI, it is proven that the AI can lower the number of car accidents which leads to fewer casualties in a period. A recent report from local hospitals in those three cities above showed that there were fewer people admitted to the emergency room caused by road accidents in the same period as the self-driving taxis were deployed. However, there is also a drawback of having driverless taxis moving around the cities which is the increasing amount of driver unemployment. While those taxis do not require drivers, it will lead to fewer people getting jobs. From the point of view of the taxi operators, paying drivers will be more expensive compared to deploying the AI technology into their taxis and thus, manual drivers will be replaced by machines. For instance, ABC taxi company is developing a self-driving taxi system which is estimated to be 300,000 taxis and could end up with drivers who are supposed to work as drivers losing their jobs. To conclude, some cars have been equipped with AI which allows them to drive on their own without the driver’s control. Take taxis, for example. While deploying self-driving taxis could lead to massive unemployment, I believe there are more advantages towards it. The AI technology provided in the taxi could lower the number of car accidents caused by the driver’s errors and it should be regarded as positive improvement since it will also protect all living souls inside the car.