Many people believe that women make better parents than men and that is why they have a greater role in raising children in most societies. Others claim that men are just as good as women at parenting. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is thought by some people that women have a relatively better parenting style compared to men and for that reason, raising children in many cultures is mainly given to women for the dominant part. However, some others argue that men are just as competent as women in this matter. This essay agrees that women take care of their offspring better while partially agreeing that men are just as capable. On the one hand, many think that ladies are one step ahead at parenting and educating owing to the maternal nature that is inherently laid within their psyche. This also intersects with gender roles in traditional households that ladies' presence in the family is to take care of the children, husband and house only, while guys are the providers who work outside to make ends meet. Moreover, this matter is also proven in the case of single parents from both divorces and deaths. A clear example from Indonesia is of the 67 million heads of households, 14,8% are single mothers and only 4% are single fathers. On the other side, it cannot be denied that guys could take care of their children to some extent that does not involve biological duties like breastfeeding. However, guys are often considered as not as competent as ladies with major cases where divorced men or those whose wives pass away, are getting married shortly afterwards and the reasons are mainly to find partners to take care of their children or households. Thus, most of the time guys’ capability in parenthood, independently, in particular, depends on themselves. To wrap things up, women may have a greater role in parenting due to their nature and doctrine of conventional gender roles in families. Nevertheless, men are as competent as women despite biological duties depending on the individuals themselves, whether they want to commit to taking care of their children or not.