Some people think that the most important function of music is to help people relax. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are many who believe that the key concept of music centers on relaxation. In this essay I will discuss why I disagree with this notion and form a conclusion. Firstly, there are a variety of situations which utilize music as a form of stress relief. For instance, studies have shown background noise when students are preparing for exams can enhance academic performance. This is due to, the increased ability for active recall as well as, the stimulation of memories that are important for the topic being studied. Secondly, after a long and stressful day at work, the majority of people love to unwind by listening to their favourite songs. The familiar tune may hold positive memories, or have the ability to induce new, exciting and calming thoughts. Furthermore, the act of singing out loud releases anger and tension from the body, thus aiding in the relaxation of the body and mind. On the other hand, melodies are frequently used as a form of entertainment. Many use musical therapy as an additional way to cure their boredom, by inviting friends and family over or having a karoke night. Additionally, people will strive to accumulate their income so that they are able to watch their favourite artists perform live. Moreover, these shows provide a fun, entertaining atmosphere as well as a chance to acquaint with like-minded people. Lyrics and the associated melodies can also be used as a form of therapy and help overcome a painful situation, like a breakup. Most people will resonate with the words and feel comfort in the fact that they are being heard and understood. They can also use these tunes as a form of healing. In conclusion, it is advisable that music is not only used for relief but also as entertainment and as a way to feel understood.