The government spend about 220 million (poundsterling) a year supporting museums and galleries in the UK, and a similar amount subsiding the visual and perfoming arts. This is a huge sum to spend on minority interest, and the money would be better spent on more important things. It should be up to the people who enjoy cultural attractions to pay for them. What are your views?

The investment of developing the art and cultural industry is one of the most prevalent policy for the British government. However, there are some criticisms that the government expenditure should be highly allocated to improve the living standard of the minority groups in the society. This essay argued that providing additional resources to support the cultural and artistic life of the country is totally essential as that industry can effectively boost the income of tourism, and therefore the government should actively bear the responsibility to administrate the museums and galleries. It is evident that taking part in art events, ranging from accessing local museums to sightseeing the heritage attractions is the most popular activities for the global travelers. During staying in the countries, consumptions such as dining in the restaurants, purchasing the luxurious goods and booking the hotels are beneficial to the economy which drive the business of retail, hospitality, and catering industry. As a result, the arts play a key role in tourism so as to make the society more wealthy and that profit can also use to support the needy in the society. Given the positive impact of that, government definitely take the initiative to support the art attractions and landmarks for instance, access to museums, galleries and night markets should be freely available to all of the local residents and foreign visitors. On the other hand, the tourism bureau have to regularly organise the traditional pop-up events in the cultural spots so that attracting more people to travel the city. All in all, it seems that although there are many demands on the society, the policy makers do have responsibility to provide assistance to range of cultural activities in order that benefit the economy and the government revenue.