Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that governments have to face more dilemmas caused by senior citizens, while some people think that elderly people give more advantages to the community. This essay will examine how elderly people have a positive impact on society since they have a wealth of skills as well as contribute to the economy. To begin with, the activeness of people becomes slower when they turn older. The older population who still drives tend to use a lower speeds, therefore the traffic increase in public. What is more, the ageing population rarely for asking help in society because they do not want to bother their neighbour. For instance, when the society need to collect data in order to election, older people usually come late so impacted by the event. Obviously, senior citizens have to start a relationship with their society which is able to lend a hand to them. On the other hand, despite those downsides, it is worth noticing that the ageing population has numerous skills due to many of the experiences they have in their life that contribute to the community. To illustrate, in a state, if there is a problem in the neighbourhood, folk usually ask for advice from the elderly since they are able to provide advice based on their life experiences. Another benefit is independence financially. Owing to the many work experiences elderly people have, they have numerous assets to support their lives; as a result, senior citizens do not ask the government to provide aid for them. In conclusion, although elderly people may encounter some issues in public, I firmly believe that their presence is essential since many aspects they can contribute. Subsequently, it is clear that governments have to provide more spaces in public in order to support older people activities.