in many countries,primar and secondary schools close for two months or more int he summer holidays. what is the value of long school holidays

Many countries give children a break from school for around two months. Some opine that these breaks should be cut shorter. This essay will discuss the significance and argument in favour of shorter breaks.Children in educational institutions have semesters of intense studying throughout the year. The break gives students a period to unwind and do the things they like or require for the future. During this timeframe, some utilise it to prepare their portfolios and study for the next academic year. For instance, high school seniors use this time to get their community service volunteer hours, prepare for aptitude tests or enhance their portfolio with activities and internships. This is due to having limited time during semesters to do extracurricular activities since studying, preparing and giving exams takes up a significant portion of time. This includes my own experience and what I have witnessed my classmates and batch mates do. However, the approximate timeframe given for the holidays may be too long of a timeframe. Kids at times spent all day at home in their rooms rather than doing something productive. Namely, children lose momentum to study and get distracted. This is because they spend hours playing games and watching movies with no supervision since their parents go to work. Consequently, parents,especially both heads of the family who bring income, say that the breaks should be made shorter. In addition, it overtime resulted in demotivation to learn things ahead of time for their subjects next year. For example, my younger sister has to attend extra classes when the academic year commences to keep up with the content. Furthermore, she has mentioned that the majority of her classmates attend this, as well as; her friends from several different schools. This is mainly because a rather large part of their vacation goes to playing games instead of attending workshops or putting in hours to good use.From my perspective, the rest given is crucial for them to relax their mind and catch up on the sleep they missed out, but how they utilise the period is vital. Overall, the primary and secondary day schools should close for the summer holidays but for a shorter term so they can prioritise agendas, be productive and enhance their skills.