Some people say that advertising is extremely succesfull at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While there are individuals who hold on to the idea that what we purchase is highly influenced by advertising, others contend that our choices have nothing to do with marketing since its prevalence has left it ineffective in grabbing the public's attention. Both sides have convincing reasons and some evidence to prove them right. My personal perception has convinced me that advertising both implicitly and explicitly is crucial to a business's survival. The public demand mostly relies on what they are told they need or what they see others consume. Being aware of this universal characteristic of mankind, advertisers have come up with some extremely effective marketing techniques that leave no stone unturned to make the public believe they cannot go without a particular product. For instance, knowing how to make most people's hidden fears such as ageing, a cosmetic enterprise that manufactures anti-ageing eye cream claims applying its product equals youth, which is a value in most cultures. This goes so far that all adults aged above forty believe that an anti-wrinkle cream is a must. Therefore, although some of these products are just a gimmick, they appear to be essential and are easily sold to people since they are scared of not having the virtue that contributes to it. On the other hand, there are those who hold a more pessimistic outlook towards advertising. They rely on the fact that different sorts of adverts, say, commercials on television or radio, pop-up ads on the Internet or even billboards on highways are so commonplace that they fail to attract the public's attention. In other words, the incidence of adverts makes the audience insensitive towards them. For, example, if the billboards on highways were to be more scarce, they would benefit the undivided attention of drivers, letting them have the picture on their mind for a longer time before it is replaced by the message of the next billboard. In conclusion, although the rationales behind both points of view seem to be compelling, I believe once something is out of sight, it will fall out of mind. In today's extremely competitive world of business, even gigantic monopolies implement all marketing strategies in order to survive and live on. Thus, marketing appears to be one of the most worthwhile sections a business had better invest in.