Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experiences. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays many people are often using plastic as one of their basic needs in daily life. People are eager to use plastic bags or plastic packaging whenever they yearn to carry out their belongings. It is because they contemplate that plastic bags are both easy to find and cheaper than other containers. Nevertheless, overusing plastic could lead to devastating consequences these days, particularly for the environment. The latest research reveals that there is an increasing number of plastic waste in today’s world. This is because many people usually prefer to purchase plastic bags, or they are fond of bottled water instead of tap water. However, the problem is that they cannot manage plastic waste wisely, and this condition could lead to many disastrous effects on the environment like biodiversity loss and flash floods. The enormous amount of plastic waste that has already been found in marine life could result in biodiversity loss. It is because usually many fish unconsciously consume their food that contains microplastic as a part of plastic waste in marine. As a result, the microplastic can end up with a dead for many fish. Moreover, the plastic waste in the marine might be leading to flash floods. Once the flash flood happened, it could result in many disasters destroying the building either in the city or in the village. Despite this notion, there are some preventive measures that could be taken to tackle the problems. The government should make strict rules about the limitation of using plastic presently, which could have a significant impact on citizens. For example, shops are forbidden to provide plastic bags and use plastic packaging for sale. Likewise, the government might give severe punishment for those who are not obeying the law that has already been made. Furthermore, individual people could take a big responsibility for limiting the utilization of plastic. People can purchase other types of container that have long-lasting use instead of using a single-use plastic bag. In conclusion, it is evident that overusing plastic products can lead to potential damage to the environment. Government and individual people should overcome the aforementioned issues by having strict rules and limiting the utilization of plastic.