Some argue that patriotism is the primary cause of wars globally. Others feel that it serves to prevent less ethical politicians from running a country and starting wars. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Wars have increased by a great deal recently, primarily because of patriotism. However, a politician who is devouted to his own country will likely be against violence and bloodshed. In this essay, I will discuss why I agree with this notion and form a conclusion. Firstly, the prevelance of wars occurring globally may be due to a heightened sense of pride and nationalism towards one’s own country. The majority of disputes are a direct result of land being taken away from one locality, or injustice prevailing in one domain. Therefore, in order to defend ones’s own region there may be attacks carried out against the invader so that preservation of the nation is insured. Secondly, often if a sector is being attacked there is a high likelihood of the loss of a people and its community. Each society has a unique identity, in terms of culture, history, arts and language. If this society is under threat or being questioned, then a war will likely break out in order to presere that territory’s culture, history and people. On the other hand, having a sense of nationalism towards one’s own country automatically instils a sense of pride and protection. People placed in important governmental ranks who also posses such thoughts, will ensure that no harm or danger comes to their people. They will maintain an ethical approach and endeavor to maintain peace. Moreover, they will make sure no acts of violence are carried out in their homeland as this will destroy the natural beauty and facilities they love. Additionally, they will have a moral justice to their own people and prevent any ill natured activity against themselves or their citizens. In conclusion, it is advisable that patriotism does have a role to play in terror attacks and violence but is also helpful in persevering a nation.