Some people today prefer to get advice for medical problems from the internet and do not want to visit a doctor. Why is this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

With the developmentof the Internet some people choose searching information about medicine and treatments from web-sites instead of traditional face-to-face consulting with a doctor. In this essay we will discuss why this phenomenon happens and what pros and cons of this trend there are. More and more people tend to practice self-treatment using information about their diseases from the global net because they may not trust the local medical system, which might be forced by old-fashioned medical methods. For example, my aunt revises all medical prescriptions which she takes from a local therapist using specialized web-sites which provide an additional information about alternative diagnosis and treatment. I consider this opportunity to have a second opinion about treatment plan as an undeniable advantage. On the other hand, the professional medical society warn patients about good number of risks which are intrinsic to the aforementioned practice. The Internet is flooded by unverified information. Doctors insist on traditional model of healthcare which implies an element of live communication between a doctor and a patient. It helps to reveal the genuine cause of a patient’s condition and prescribe the proper drugs or therapy. Personally, I think it might be the case. Today, use of information from websites for the purposes of self-treatment is getting more popular in comparison with visiting a hospital. Some patients prefer to check medical prescriptions because of lack of trust of the medical system despite the immense volume of unchecked publications on medical topics. In my opinion, patients have the right to verify a doctor’s opinion using open-source information, but they should take the related risks into account.