Some people say that you can learn more about another country by watching television programmes and films about it than by actually visiting it How true is this statement? Iss there anything you can learn about another country by visiting it that you cannot learn by watching programmes and films about it

On the one hand, many TV shows create a good image in the eyes of the viewers and the drawbacks are often ignored. Nowadays, to promote tourism, countries always want viewers to gain insights into various cultures through interesting travel programs, but sometimes they make untrue documentaries. For example, some programs always introduce that people in a specific area are hospitable and friendly, but the truth is that tourists are ripped off by locals. In addition, a country always has many unique aspects of culture, cuisine, and so on, which viewers cannot grasp through programs. On the other hand, I hold a firm belief that there are many things we cannot know just by watching TV, and we need to pay a visit there to understand them. Take traditional festivals of ethnic people as an example, through the screen, they can only know the activities of the festival, but if they go to that festival, they can participate in cultural practices and understand their meanings, and customs of the people here. Additionally, when actually visiting a region, you can meet and communicate with inhabitants here, and they can broaden their horizons about the lifestyles and cultures of residents who live there. In conclusion, the programs provide viewers with plenty of information about a country, but to get a deep insight into a place or a country, you need to pay a visit there and experience it.