The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In this era, it is impossible for humans to stay away from a gadget and social media. The technology's development has been raised rapidly and uncontrollably. One of the benefit of it is  those who have long distance relationship are now finding it easier to connect through an OTT technology, such as Facebook and Twitter. Over 9 billions of people in the world are Facebook or Twitter users. Some of them use it to receive the latest news, some of them use it to work, it is probably half of them that use Facebook or Twitter to write down their opinions towards anything, and most of them use it to connect with friends of colleagues. From this phenomenon, it is undoubtedly true that the social media's appearances create a huge impact for people, especially when you have a limited time or you live far away from your family or friends. The social media is right there to help you maintaining your relationship even with the furthest ones. However, we can not deny that the social media also gives you some risks. For example people tend to find comfort to stay at home, not having a real-life conversation with others. Instead, they prefer to communicated towards writing. This might decrease the ability of communication because no matter how powerful the social media is, as a social living creature, we are destinied to live with other humans and it is possible that we will need their help someday. Overall, the social media appearance is very helpful for people because it could be another way to stay close with others. But, we need to be wise to use it because the social media still has some risks that could decrease our ability.