In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Knowing the results of hard work is to a child what planning is to a firm. Adolescents might have heard that to become more successful they should try harder, which is true, but this matter, clearly, is a mixed blessing requiring further experiments on a wider context. Some individuals argue that alerting children about the consequences of their actions is not ethical and would bring about mental problems for them if they cannot achieve their goals. In this case, the child who has failed to meet its needs would feel disappointed despite all efforts which may cause mental issues for the adolescent. Moreover, all human beings exist in this globe in order to experience and learn from their mistakes, so making a child obsessed with its goals is not moral. It is just half of the picture; this matter should be seen on a broader canvas. In today’s world full of greed and conflict having a clear perspective of what we can achieve by trying is a blessing in both individual and educational terms. Many families correctly believe that by telling their children about the merits of hard trying they would gift them a purpose which could flourish their personality and it is for their own good. Furthermore, those children who are aware of the results of their actions are usually better students and have fewer problems with their school curriculums because they know how thriving and rewarding hard study could be. In conclusion, morally and mentally problematic as knowing the achievements of hard trying might be, it is indeed individually and educationally beneficial. If knowing the results of hard work is, as result, like planning, then it should be a priority for parents.