More and more countries are making university education completely free for their citizens. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

These days, many countries around the world provide free university education for their people. This development may seem like a purely positive one, but it comes with disadvantages as well. This essay will discuss one important benefit of adopting a gratuitous tuition system for higher education and a problem that such a system can sometimes cause.   A clear advantage of free university education is that many people who could otherwise not attend university due to financial restrictions can enroll in a degree program and have a chance to improve their standard of living. In other words, a free tuition system can level the playing field for prospective students from different backgrounds, especially in countries where tuition costs are extremely high. In my home country of USA, many people of lower economic status choose not to get a degree precisely because the tuition is quite expensive. By the time people complete their degree programs, they often face mountains of debt which can take years to pay off. The burden of debt of this magnitude is enough to dissuade many people from going to university, so free education could have enormous benefits to lower-income members of society. If these people complete a university program, they can have increased opportunities for more stable jobs with competitive salaries. Thus, free university education could help impoverished citizens, which would thereby help reduce educational and financial inequalities among citizens of various backgrounds. While free university tuition has other favorable aspects, there are also some key drawbacks to consider. One important drawback is that free university education could potentially lead to more competition for university entrance because anyone, regardless of their financial situation, can apply. This results in a larger pool of applicants and creates a need for higher admissions standards. In Finland where university fees are free, students do not struggle due to education costs but instead due to highly competitive university entrance exams. Because university entrance is so selective in Finland, students may fail to be admitted on their first try, and they could be forced to apply two or even three times. This process could take years, and may require students to get additional help from private tutors. Low-income prospective students could easily feel discouraged by such slim chances of university acceptance, and consequently the system gives rise to the same problem it aimed to solve in the first place. Essentially, overly competitive university entrance could negate the advantages of free education.   In conclusion, making higher education free for everyone can help many lower-income citizens rise in society, but the resulting cost of free education is then reflected in increasingly fierce competition for university admissions, which works to the advantage of students with the means to afford the extra help.