Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is argued that a number of children spend some times on their smartphones regularly. This happens due to several reasons, namely the advertisement of technology and the entertainment offered by utilizing smartphone. I wholeheartedly believe that this phenomenon impacting the younger generation negatively even though there might be a few positive results as well. It is legitimate that children these days own smartphones and use them daily. The predominant reason for this is due to the advancement of technology. Smartphone is fairly small in site, yet we can almost do many things with it. Its efficiency has caused people, including children, to carry it and use it everywhere. Further, the internet plays a crucial role in the popularity of smartphones among children. With a connected device, they are able to access the internet freely. Chatting with friends, watching Youtube, playing online games, creating social media contents, and calling their parents are some of the prime examples of the use of smartphone. Thus, it is justifiable for the young people to spend much time on their phones since there are many things they can benefit from it. Subsequent to that, many children love smartphones because of the entertainment offered by them. The youth these days are glued to their phones to fulfill their needs to be entertained. This is why online games have become very popular as it can be easily accessed through phone. Similarly, it has been proven that the teenagers made up for the most users for tiktok. Hence, many children use their phone to dive on the social media for entertainment purpose. Even though there might be some positive impact of the use of smartphone for children. I think its negative impacts outweigh the goods. Children have become less physically active because they prefer to sit and play with their phones. Moreover, the researcher have an on-going study in regards to the short-attention span of this young generation. They are seeing a connection between the attention span of the children and the time spent on smartphones. To recapitulate, there are main causes of why children tend to spend hours each day on phone. This are driven by the efficiency of using internet as well as entertainment purpose. To my view, this phenomenon leads to many negative impact on the children ’s well-being.