It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media-rich society.

It would not be wrong to state that the media holds a sway over the lives of the population. Although, there is the disadvantage of becoming subservient to the media platforms, yet the advantage of providing knowledge to masses at a fast pace is equally significant. I surmise that despite its pros and cons, it is advantageous to be a part of media-rich society. The merit of disseminating knowledge to a wide spectrum of people in a shorter span is one which cannot be snubbed. This is since everyone has access to media through their smartphones, and the internet is no more a luxury today. For example, people all across the world were made aware of the global scare of the COVID-19 and what steps they could take to shield themselves from becoming a victim to this deadly viral disease. These occurrences further support the idea that connecting people on a global scale is one of the major benefits of a media -dominated world. The demerit which stares us in the face as a result of vast media influence is that people are enslaved to this wide array of entertainment sources made available as a causality. This protrudes in weak interpersonal relations as people prefer digital mode rather than face-to-face communication. For instance, it is a common sight these days where a group of friends sitting in a café are all glued to their phones and not talking to each other. Thus, it would not be an exaggeration to highlight the deleterious consequences of addiction created because of omnipotent media. In essence, it is arduous to break out from the influence of media in our present-day lives. While there will always be the fear of increasing social distance in the society due to this overshadowing media presence, the rapid expansion of knowledge and information is the advantage which cannot be discarded. Hence, it is the benefit of awareness and erudition of the general populace that weighs heavily over the disadvantages.