some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Widespread of technology has changed everyone's daily routine in various ways. Nowadays, smartphones have been a crucial part of people including children's lives. There might be several reasons that indicate why young generation spend some hours on their phones daily. Also, this attitude toward mobile phones might have some consequences. There are different factors which motivate youngsters to spend so much time surfing the net or just being on their phones. Firstly, nowadays, parents are in a rush most of the time and they cannot make time for their beloved children. So, they try to fill this gap and entertain their kids with their smartphones to not hear their naggings. Secondly, there are actually millions of interesting options in smartphones that can entertain you for several hours, for instance, games, cartoons, movies, songs and etc. Children get amazed by this oportunity and don' t show the tendency to replace it with any other activity. And thirdly, new generation doesn' t have enough hobbies. Some of children's worlds are centered around their smartphones which means, they are not even aware of any other activity, and identify scrolling on their phone as their leisure time activity. This attitude in children might be considered as a negative or positive in various situations, but in my opinion, its negativity outweigh its positivity for several reasons. The most vital reason for this statement is lack of physical movement as a result of spending time on smartphones. Children tend to sit still more than previous decades and it can affect the normal process of their growth. It can also lead to obesity which has proven by scientists to be concerning in the future. Last but not least, lack of real communication in children as a result of focusing on their smartphones only can lead to unsociable juveniles. As a result of phone being in the center of the attention, children don' t make real freiends and don' t have real interactions with other people, so they won' t be able to improve tactics of a beneficial communication. In conclusion, widespread of technology and specifically smartphones has caused so many troubles in the growth process of kids which must be prevented by parents. For instance, they can set some boundaries about children's screen time and get the phone back at that prefixed hour. This way they have limitation in hours of using their phones and may be forced to find something more advantageous to do during their day.