some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is positive or a negative development?

Widespread technology has changed everyone's daily routine in various ways. Nowadays, smartphones have been a crucial part of people including children's lives. There might be several reasons that indicate why the young generation spends some hours on their phones daily. Also, this attitude toward mobile phones might have some consequences. There are different factors which motivate youngsters to spend so much time surfing the net or just being on their phones. Firstly, nowadays, parents are in a rush most of the time and they cannot make time for their beloved children. So, they try to fill this gap and entertain their kids with their smartphones to not hear their naggings. Secondly, there are actually millions of interesting options in smartphones that can entertain you for several hours, for instance, games, cartoons, movies, songs etc. Children are amazed by this opportunity and don' t show the tendency to replace it with any other activity. And thirdly, the new generation doesn' t have enough hobbies. Some offspring's worlds are centered around their smartphones which means, they are not even aware of any other activity, and identify scrolling on their phone as their leisure time activity. To illustarte this, if you ask any children to choose one between attending a pottery class and playing the newest version of mobile phone game, he would defenitly choose the second one! This attitude in children might be considered as negative or positive in various situations, but in my opinion, its negativity outweighs its positivity for several reasons. The most vital reason for this statement is the lack of physical movement as a result of spending time on smartphones. Children tend to sit still more than in previous decades and it can affect the normal process of their growth. It can also lead to obesity which has been proven by scientists to be concerning in the future. For example, children prefer to watch a football match on their phones instead of playing football with their friends in the yard these days. Last but not least, lack of real communication in children as a result of focusing on their smartphones only can lead to unsociable juveniles. As a result of the phone being at the centre of attention, children don' t make real friends and don' t have real interactions with other people, so they won' t be able to improve the tactics of beneficial communication. To give a clear example, they may not be able to start a conversation when needed and won' t be able to meet their social needs. In conclusion, the widespread of technology specifically smartphones has caused so many troubles in the growth process of kids which must be prevented by parents. For instance, they can set some boundaries about children's screen time and get the phone back at that prefixed hour. This way they have limitations in hours of using their phones and may be forced to find something more advantageous to do during their day.