In many countries, the quality of life in the large cities is becoming worse. What causes this problem? What measure can be taken to solve it?

In some countries, it becomes a fact that quality of life is decreasing significantly, especially in the big cities. The true root cause of this problem is nowadays, it is even difficult for citizens to get some fresh air, and to overcome this problem, government should estabilish a strict policy in terms of gas emissions. Nowadays, the pollution rate in the central cities is worsening. This phenomenon happens due to increasing rate of private vehicle usage, which omitted a huge quantity of carbon dioxide emission. Take Jakarta as an example. In 2023, it is recorded that the pollution level reach up to 80%, especially in the peak hours while people use their cars to travel to their office. As a result, recent data from Indonesia's Ministry of Health states that the pneumonia disease in Jakarta jump significantly to 3200 cases, and this problem has a direct link to pollution which produced from dozens of private vehichles. There are some ways to answer the pollution problem, and one of them is by increasing annual car's tax to prevent people for buying car, consumptively. This solution is the most strategic way to push down the pollution generation since number of vehicle in road will reduce, as a result of people will think twice or more before buy car for themselves. For instance, Singapore's government establishes rule that for all citizens who have a private car, they should spend around $7900 each year. Thus, since the policy becomes official, the numbers of car ownership dive dramatically since Singaporean do not want to spend huge ammount amounts of their mony just to pay annual tax. As a concrete result, the pollution rate in Singapore is only about 15%, and the quality of life of Singapore citizens become the highest among countries in South East Asian. To sum up, many people feel that their quality of life is decreasing, especially in the central cities. This problem can caused by they struggle to get fresh air due to pollution rate that is uncontrollable. To solve this problem, I think government should make a solid policy about annual car's tax as a strategic movement.