The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Day by day the amount of car users increasing. In 1888, first car introduced to the British market then it steadily continue its increase. When we look at the 2000s there are nearly 29 million vehicles on British roads. After this excessive usage, some people opine that another types of transport should be promoted and governments institute new laws internationally in order to control car ownership. Because of the global warming and traffic problems it may cause I definitely agree with this notion. First of all, when the number of cars increased, the roads become stucked by them. High number of cars owned by individuals may cause extraordinary traffic intensity especially while commuters trying to go or come back from work. In Istanbul, for instance, there are limited public transports that’s why people have to use their car. If your home is not so close to your workplace then you might spent at least 2 hours while trying to come back to your home from work even if it is 10 minutes away in normal conditions. If people encouraged to use public transport instead of their own vehicles, the roads could become convenient. Secondly, excessive amount of car ownership contributes global warming. Recently, the world have been alarming due to increase in world temperature, climate change, animal species ceased to extinct which all caused by global warming. The smoke rising from cars and fuel is the two main detriments caused by cars which affects the atmosphere in a bad way. Studies Show that, in Cuba, where the proportion of car users is the least, the quality of weather is much more better than the metropolitans. Since people are more obedient with laws, international laws might be set in order to limit car ownership. In conclusion, with high increase in car ownership, should people promoted with alternative ways of transport or international laws to buy a new car or use? In my opinion, in order to control traffic intensity and prevent from global warming I strongly agree that precautions should be taken.