In many countries today, everyday necessities like food and petrol have become very expensive. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this modern world, the cost of everyday necessities such as food and petrol has become increasingly expensive. In my opinion, the primary causes of this issue are countries ' inability to produce local products and lack of alternative. This essay will explain what might have caused this situation with relevant examples and what should be done to address this problem. Firstly, many countries that are unable to be self-sufficient in producing their own necessities may rely on other countries for their supply. For example, at the end of 2022, the price of Indonesia's fertilizers skyrocketed when the Russia-Ukraine conflict occurred. This is because Russia stopped exporting their fertilizers to other countries and unfortunately, the majority of Indonesia's fertilizers were produced by Russia at that time, which led to a dramatic price volatility. As a result, up until now, the fertilizer price in Indonesia remains high due to Indonesia's failure to balance their supply and demand. Secondly, lack of alternative for certain food and petrol could be another reason why the prices have become so expensive. For instance, the type of fuel that is mostly consumed by Indonesians is gasoline, which is not renewable. The production of gasoline keeps on decreasing each day due to the increasing population in Indonesia which leads to energy scarcity. To suppress its demand, the government imposes a tax to secure the energy source because they do not have any option to substitute gasoline. In conclusion, the reason why food and petrol prices are increasing day by day in many countries is because these countries may not be able to produce their own products independently and fail to explore food and petrol substitutions. After thorough analysis on this subject matter, it is predicted that government regulations play a pivotal role in raising public awareness such as creating business competition incentives and supporting renewable energy vehicles by providing subsidies to their residents.