In some countries, many people suffer from health problems due to eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. Do you agree or disagree?

Incidences of obesity have risen over the years. It is believed to be a consequence of over consumption of fast food and hence some people argue that the government should increase the tax on such foods. In my opinion, this approach is unlikely to yield the desired result. In the first place, increasing tax on fast food is unlikely to reduce its consumption. Actually, most people who consume it are already well aware of the health consequences of its consumption; however, their busy schedules do not permit them to cook proper meals at home. Hence, they opt for readymade meals. They will buy packaged food even if the price is high because they cannot or do not want to cook healthy food at home. Hence, a higher tax will have little impact on fast food consumption especially among middle and higher income groups. At the same time, it will put a burden on the lower strata of the society. Many of these people subsist on fast food because they cannot afford healthy food. By increasing the tax on fast food, the government will only add to their woes. A better solution is to make healthy food more affordable and available to all sections of the society. The government can open eateries all over the country where it can sell healthy meals at affordable prices. It should also enact laws that make it mandatory for fast food companies to ensure the quality of their foods. In conclusion, there is no one-size-fits-all solution to combat obesity, and a higher tax on fast food is not the one we need. What the government should do is to make healthy meals more and more affordable.