Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The advertising has sparked a burning question on whether it is successfully making products outstanding for greater consumption or holding back customers' intention to buy stuff as per its huge distribution. From my point of view, the latter is the reality of the world we are in now as the tendency of purchasing products because they have been brought to people's attention by advertisement seems to be descending. Coming down to the fact that people's attention can be drawn to a specific numbers of products through advertising, it is doubtlessly that the more we see something the more we remember it. Hence, this phenomenon has been a thesis deeply founding in advertising sector to encourage people to buy things being promoted. For that reason/ the repetition makes it familiar to us - For instance, a survey done by purchasers in a supermarket statistics that the more attractive advertisement is the more they remember the products that enhances the chance of them heading to checkout with those products among hundreds of ones in the same category by 60%. However, to the others' and also my belief, it is gradually not the case these days, because too much advertising is overwhelming consumers, especially ones being resistant to change what already in their purchase list for a long time. Products in the market has a tendency to be replaced throughout the time by newer and newer, which are not something special to anyone. Therefore, the advertisments used to grab consumers' attention is too familiar for them to keep switching to the latest unless the currently used are no longer produced. To prove this, the marketing sector's illperformance report can be referred to for the fact that advertisement has failed by 35% in the period between 2015 and 2020 to push consumers towards buying the constantly promoted products. In summary, advertising has been seen as one of many ways to get people to buy products since much long before; yet the trend is getting less and less effective as people seem to be more ignorant to them, which is how I also view as a consumer.