There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this rapid world, many parents push their offspring to concentrate on their academic subjects such as math, physics and so on and students started to pay less attention on non-academic subjects such as physical education or cookery. Some people think that removing non-academic subjects from school curriculum will give children more spare time on academic works. I partly agree with this notion and this essay will try to explore whether it will have a positive influence on them, or other measures should be undertaken. To begin with, from my point of view, as nowadays school children only concentrate on academic subjects, other subjects ' presence can really be observed as a barrier for them. To be more clear, they will spend a lot of time on those subjects, and they will not have enough time to muster energy and to work on their main subjects. Hence, physical education, cookery or music classes might really disturb young people as they can take energy and not let teenagers focus on their important subjects such as geography and science, to name just a few. On the flip side, sometimes young people get tired of doing academic subjects and physical education or cookery classes which do not require too much brain work may be a way for adults to repose and get entertained. Saying thoroughly, those indicated subjects are considered as a student entertainment classes and having those subjects in school syllabus may have a good impact on youngsters' lives. Moreover, in terms of physical education, this subject plays a crucial role for adults, it helps them to get rid of being overweight and maintain a healthy lifestyle. Thus, fully removing this subject can really affect youngsters' physical health. For instance, in my childhood, I used to suffer from being obese, so only attending physical education classes helped me to some extent to reduce my body weight. Taking everything into account, it is indisputable that removing non-academic subjects might aid youngsters for having more free time to focus on their major subjects, however, not always it can be beneficial, as they will have lack of time to have fun and to relax as well.