Financial education should be included as a mandatory subject in schools to prepare students for managing money effectively. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Money management is something that everybody needs to be aware of since early age. In that case, I strongly agree with the obligation for student to study financial management. Firstly, it can build an individual with a considerate financial decision, considering that many children are given a liberty to choose on how they spend their money by their parents. As we are faced with a wide variety of choices these days, they need to understand that every choice has its own consequences. For instance, if a person only have a $3 and wants to buy candy, he would have to sacrifice their lunch meal for the choice they made. That way, a person has to decide which one is more beneficial than the other. Consequently, this decision-making process can lead to a responsible consumption. If this principle is applied in a daily basis, it would become a habit and eventually engraved in the children’s mind whenever they have to pick on how they would like to spend their money. Eventually, it can alternate the fast paced consumption pattern, like in fashion industry. For instance, fast fashion has been a threat for our environment because of how rapidly the trends change, making tons of clothing goes to waste annually and slow consumption is one of the ways to stop this from happening. In conclusion, in order to open up a new perspective about finance, education institutions should be facilitating their students to learn about the basic life skills in their school curriculum.