Some people state arts courses such painting or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students .To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Art is an inseparable part of human existence; therefore, it is also a part of a high school programme. However, there is still a lack of consensus on whether it should be compulsory or not. While each of these views has both pros and cons, I believe that arts courses should be obligatory for all students. There have been many benefits of learning about the art. First and foremost, it allows you to deepen your knowledge about the history of humankind. Art has been made by humans since our origin thousands of years ago - it presents different epochs, beliefs, and socio-political situations of our ancestors, thereby, it is a great subject to study in order to understand our past. Furthermore, it also enables getting to know the human mind in a more complex way. Art not only does presents the past, but also expresses the feelings and thoughts of its creators; consequently, constituting a unique way to gain a better knowledge of our minds. On the other hand, relevant drawbacks of such an approach are visible too. The most significant of them is that the art can be hard to understand. Not all students feel the art, thus, for some of them, it may be boring and unessential. Additionally, it is another subject about which teenagers have to learn. The educational programme is already full of unnecessary stuff and art, since it is not as important as for instance mathematics, can boost the feeling of being overwhelmed as well as consume the time that students can spend learning about more important subjects. In conclusion, compulsory arts classes in a high school have both advantages and disadvantages. The most significant benefit of them is the fact that art can contribute to deepening teenagers' knowledge of history and humans, which I believe is very profitable. In contrast, it possesses also relevant weaknesses in the form of being hard to understand and time-consuming.