It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn the distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parent and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is essential for children from an early age to gain the understanding about what is appropriate and not. Hence, there is an opinion that to learn this, children need to be punished, so that they can realise the difference. I totally disagree with this statement, and this essay will explain why. First and foremost, punishment does not teach children, but develops fear and stress. This means that instead of learning a lesson from a situation, the child is just afraid to get caught. Hence, young people start still committing bad actions, trying not to be noticed by parents or teachers, as they do not want to be punished, especially physically. For example, physical punishment in Russia still holds merrit, because many parents believe that this is the only way to make their children listen. However, the research showed that this method puts a gap between a child and a parent, breaking a connection. Moreover, in many countries, physical punishment is the main reason why young individuals run from their homes and decide to stay homless. Gentle and caring approaches provide youngsters knowledge of how to function as normal members of society who have an idea about morals and norms. Careful explanation instead of punishment leads to deep understanding about inappropriate behaviour, making a person to reflect on the situation. If the child is being explained and asked about negative consequences of their actions, they will not commit it again. For instance, in Australian curriculum, children are taught to value feelings of each other and to cultivate the essential qualities, such as empathy, kindness and generousity. Children practice to identify emotions and then participate in some activities, such as identifying particilular emotions, such as sadness or anger, and seeing reasons for them. Consequently, people from an early age learn how to treat each other, with respect and care, to avoid conflicts and arguments. In conclusion, even though, in some countries punishment stilll makes sense, I truly believe that it does not make a person better, but instead, detriment their wellbeing. By educating children about moral and social norms with patience and love, children gain truly understanding of how to behave in this world.