Public transport should be funded by government so that it can be free for the people who use it. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, who has the responsibility to invest fund in public transportation has gradually become the focus of public concern. It is claimed that governments should to use money in public transport construction to offer free transport to the public. I tend to disagree with the above-mentioned opinion. There are mainly two reasons why public transport should not be free. One of the contributing factors is that a large quantity of money needs poured into constructing public transport by authorities. If wealth is used in public transportation. It might lead to that governments have to cut down on its investment to other fields, such as medical system, education system, and technological development. What is worse, this will cause the decline of the nation’s economy. In addition, even though the governments can make ticket free and reduce the intervals of public transport, it still can not available to lots of residents because they probably give up driving their own cars for commuting or travelling for saving money. Therefore, this issue is not definitely easy to attempt. Admittedly, opponents believe that free public transport can actually save the money spent on maintaining roads, and preserving the bridge. However, especially in some extremely cold cities, even though no cars are driving on the road, there are still a lot of break places that need repairing due to the harsh weather conditions. In conclusion, offering no-charge public transportation indeed brings a lot more benefits to the masses, but the government still need to finance other domains to support the development of the country.