Many believe that retirement age is strict to 65 years old , which is unfair. To what extent you agree or disagree ?

Government and corporations regulate the retirement age for elderly so that they can relax in their old age. However, many old people still capable of working or even in desperate need to have a stable source of income for theimselves and their children. Some people believe that making people to strictly stop working at age 65 is not fair as they should be allowed to work as long as they can and it also allows ageism mindset to company. This will be proven by discussing how maximum working age regulation is a discrimination towards the elderly and research that shows how working at late age is good to reduce chance of dementia. Firstly, being able to work and earning a salary for life support is a basic human rights, which applies to everybody including older generation, regardless the age, race, and religion. For instance, there are many kids who are unable to financially support their parents, which unfortunately force the latter to work to help the family. Hence, if the elderly is in the healthy physical and mental state, it would have been better to allow them to work just like the younger generation. Thus, it makes it clear that a rigid retirement age should not be applied in a company as it is a form of discrimination for older generation. Secondly, research said that excercising the brain to handle a complex work makes it not prone to dementia, which is the strong reason why elderly should be allowed to work in an old age. For example, some older generation likes to have their own activities in order to keep their brain working on a complex matter, such as playing scribble, gardening, crocheting, or even going to work. Hence, forcefully stopping them from doing those things can lead their brain to slow down and eventually prone to dementia. Finally, this become apparent that strict retirement age can cause a deteoriation of the elderly's health condition. In conclusion, it is agreeable that strictly set the retirement age to 65 years old is not only a form of discrimination towards the elderly, it also not good for their health. The government and companies should have known better to facilitate the older generation instead of cutting their rights' fullfilment