Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Discipling children is something that parents must do to keep their children well-behaved. For some parents, the most effective way to discipline their children is by smacking and hurting them. This essay will argue that punishing children by giving them a smack is completely unethical and will further hurt children both physically and mentally. When children do not live up to their parent's expectations, they usually get punished so it may instil some fear in their minds. With planting fear and control over children's minds, parents would feel secure because it makes their children more docile. It is also a way for parents to take out their anger and disappointment. For instance, when children have a bad grade, some parents usually smack their children's legs with a ruler so that their children would take studying more seriously. This example is viewed to be a great method by some parents in order to discipline their children especially when their children's behavior is proven to be more likeable. However, though it may seem beneficial for parents, it might cause a bigger problem for the children in the long term. Children who have gone through beatings in their childhood would have straining relationships with their parents. They are afraid to make decisions for themselves because they fear it might lead to their parents ' wrath. They also tend to lie rather than tell the truth to their parents just so they can get away from their parents ’ yelling and beating. Overall, smacking children is a wrong thing to do because not only does it make children loath their parents but also it causes serious issues in their mental and physical. This essay argued that parents who take smacking as an effective discipline option have not considered the effects that it would have on their children. In my opinion, smacking is definitely not the best way to discipline children since it is harmful.