Many people no longer read newspapers or watch TV news programmes. Instead they get news about the world from the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, because of the modern technology, the way of people receive knowledge and information has dramatically changed. Most people obtain news from the Internet rather than read newspapers or watch television channels. Personally, this will definitely have a negative impact on obtaining information, the following content will outline the reasons. Firstly, news informs more accurate and correct information to the public. Before journalists publish the news, there are several procedures to ensure the details of the events. For example, there is a protest happened on the street, where is the location, the influence of the strike and who are the participants. After the checking process, then people can obtain the correct information without misunderstand. In addition, most Internet users are normal people without training, some professional knowledge which is informed by them could be incorrect, in contrast, well-training journalists could avoid this situation. Furthermore, most Internet information is published without censorship, which means there are more sensitive and inappropriate post or videos on the Internet. In order to protect certain age range, such as teenagers or adolescents, violent, porn or sensitive issues are filtered on the TV and newspapers. However, surfers post and share the stories and events immediately on the Internet withut any censorship, this might cause younger generation a negative impact to their future because of the negative and unproper information. In conclusion, it is undoubted that the free use of Internet provides us a large amount of knowledge, nevertheless, its potential risk, for instance, wrong messages to the public and negative information which could affect children's growth could not be ignored and should be limited.