Some people believe today that everyone has a right to access to the Internet and that governments should provide this access for free. Other believe that access to the Internet is not a right and should be paid for like other services. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The internet has become a substantial part of life in the modern world. Hence, there has been an ongoing debate, on whether people should have free internet access or should be considered as any other service and it should be paid accordingly. This essay will analyze both views as well as my personal opinion will be mentioned. To begin with, some individuals consider access to this as availability to any other human right, like water, food etc, and this has to be provided accordingly. Initially, this belief emerged because the internet became the means of communication and information e.g. it is a significant part of day-to-day life. Take data for example, if someone wants to find information about anything, they will eventually find it on the websites. Thus, free availability will boost the economy of the government substantially since this will increase the number of researchers and scientists. However, the government should increase the standard of living, so that everyone can pay for this without being subsidized by taxes On the other hand, others assume that people are not obligated to it and should pay for it as any other service. Firstly, this may cause a devastation in the government funds as a result of subsidizing. Secondly, this action is not reasonable to begin with, because such access would be harmful for society. For instance, apart from the advantages of this, there are a couple of disadvantages that depend on the usage of this in general, one of them is social media which distract people greatly. Therefore, it should be only optional. In conclusion, although there are some assuring reasons which could make both views right in some way, but, in my opinion, I think it will be more reasonable to put the internet alongside with other services.