Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make their decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In general, people have different outlook on how they would raise their children. Some consider that encouraging youngster to achieve their own wishes may lead to selfishness, while others think that it is vital for them to start making their own personal decisions. While I acknowledge that supporting minors to follow their own wishes may lead to greediness, I would argue that helping children build up their confidence with the choices they make would help build up their confidence in the future. Some people believe that complying to children ’s own preferences would likely produce a self-centered individual who just think of their own interest. Due to parents’ leniency, children might think that the world revolves around them as most of their desires have been granted and will not be unchanged. Consequently, as they mature their focus are most likely to their own self-interest without minding the effect on others. Despite the notion that supporting youngsters’ own decision may mature to be a selfish individual, I believe this could be solve by strict control and guidance of the guardian which could lead children to enhance their mind set to trust their own thoughts as they mature. I believe it is crucial for every individual to develop a good belief at a young age to develop independency, which makes everyone unique with their own point of view. Briefly, instilling a good mentality to the young ones would foster a great impact on their growth. To conclude, while others think that allowing children ’s own picks could lead to self-centeredness, I believe that helping children develop their confidence to stand for their own choices will be of greater impact to them as they become an adult.