Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvanatges of being self-employed?

In recent times, there has been an increasing number of people who opt for being self-employed instead of working for a company. One of the noticeable rationals behind this trend would stem from in need for a flexible schedule. Nevertheless, there are two primary downsides of working for themselves such as unstable income and tough competition with other self-employers and companies. To begin, being self-employed can give a great deal of flexibility to our lives, which is vitally important, considering the fact that both parents have a tendency to work full time in today’s society. For instance, if one of the parents could work on a flexible schedule, he or she would be able to respond to an emergent situation like their child’s illness. This would be particularly helpful for those who are residing far away from their relatives and need to be responsible for all sorts of unexpected situations. Thus, under the prevalent current societal circumstance where both parents need to join the workforce in order to make ends meet, being self-employed plays a pivotal role in managing their lives. However, two major hindrances need to be considered. Firstly, it is often challenging for self-employers to consistently generate stable income to support their financial situations. A principal example of this would be to become a Youtuber who uploads compelling content on a regular basis. Until their channels gather enough subscribers to generate revenue, they even would need to work without making any money. Beyond this, a cut-through competition would be another setback that they must conquer. While self-employers predominantly cope with most of the tasks on their own, a company, which is in the same realm, would have sufficient human resources to delegate, resulting in a substantial gap regarding the quality of the products. In conclusion, although working as a self-employed might be an appealing choice with a pursuit of a flexible working style, it would possibly encompass financial instability and concern about joining a competitive market.