Many people say that globalization and the growing number of multinational companies have a negative effect on the environment. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

Nowadays, the situation with climate change is getting catastrophic. It is often considered that global companies are in charge of that, as they usually prioritize profit over sustainability. I partially agree with this point, since transnational corporations tend to pollute the environment without taking measures to improve the situation. However, I think that it is the government that should protect nature in the first place, setting laws to regulate harmful business activity. It may be claimed that huge companies do affect the environment, running factories that release greenhouse gases into the atmosphere without proper control and producing tons of waste without recycling. The more facilities the corporation has over the world, the more substantial is the impact it has on nature. For instance, many international textile producers set up factories in Bangladesh and other poor countries, ruining natural resources in them and making life for the local community almost unbearable. Not only do such businesses harm the current generation, but they completely destroy any hope for living in a healthy place for the descendants. At the same time, the way companies are operating is generally regulated by the governmental bodies. Hence, if no substantial measures are implemented to make corporations more green, it means that the authorities are also responsible for the global pollution catastrophe. For example, some states known for the high level of corruption share profit with companies, that save millions of dollars on pollution-control systems. To sum up, even though many transatlantic companies are responsible for contamination, the authorities are often in charge as well. I agree that the more corporations are operating globally without proper regulations, the higher is the risk for the planet. Nevertheless, the governments are also to blame for that, since they should provide measures to make businesses green.