People today are more concerned with owning material possessions than with developing friendships and family relationships. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is claimed that people in recent generations care more about their own wealth which includes mobile phones, houses, cars…etc than bonding with their friends and family.I am partially agree with the statement, one of the reason is that people who always want to pursue the better material possessions not only care about themselves, but also want to have a great connection with others.The other reason is they do spent a lot of time to earn money instead of accompany their friend and family. On the one hand, the reason why people are obsessed with value material things is because the whole society is over complete with each other. Besides, due to the popularity of social media, people always compare themselves with each other and are always afraid if they do not have a newest smartphone or clothes, they will lose the opportunity to act with others or will be underestimated. Moreover, some people care about their property because they want to give their family a better life, not just for their own but they want to have a deeper and responsible relationship. On the other hand, in these days, most people spend too much time accumulating their possessions and that cause them do not have enough time to maintain their friendships and family relationships, because they have to work late and focus on their wealth and that means they do not have spare time to interact with others. To sum up, I think why people want to have more material possessions is due to their inner desire which they want to somehow interact with others and that does not mean they do not care about their relationships with friends or family.