Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There is a widely held perception in many parts around the world that many people complaining of health problems are using alterative medicine and medications instead of seeing their doctors, from my perspective I believe that this practice is an absolute negative development, due to the fact that it is not based on a seientific evidence as well as it my be harmful. One Point which I think to be absolutely pivotal is that alternative medicine is not based on scientific evidences. To illustrate in the general trusted medicine in order to generalize treatment or even a diagnosis of certain disease, there is a sequence of steps varying from prospective studies to retrospective, must be taken place in advance. In addition to that various lab expirements are done on animals; mainly rats; in order to be sure that the diagnosis and the medicaments are optimum. From these steps it is clear that alternative medicine lacks the evidence. Another reason that Can be easily seen by everyone is that this practice may cause harmful effects. In other words people who prescribe alternative treatments are not doctors, and subsequently they lack the knowledge of the effect of different materials on the body which in turn may lead to detrimental side effects on many of the body systems. Of course, alternative medicines may be beneficial in some cases; however, I would contend that they may be devastating to body organs. For example, in Egypt, a study concluded that eighty per cent of people used alternative drugs developed chronic discases. To recapitulate, despite the existence of large numbers of people trying alternative medicines instead of trusted doctors, I believe that this is a negative development due to not being evidence based as well as the possibility of causing harmful side effects.