Many people think that painting and music do not directly improve the quality of people. Therefore, government should not spend too much money on artistic projects. Do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that the government should not allocate their nation's wealth to artistic projects, since painting and music do not directly contribute to the citizens' quality development. I personally agree with this statement. In this essay, I will discuss further two reasons behind my opinion. Firstly, an investment on people's basic needs have more urgency compared to the development of arts. Museums and artistic goods are beautiful and great for a state's icons. However, they will bring none to little impact to the well-being of a country's inhabitants. For example, plenty of creative exhibitions were held in Paris, while the rate of criminality there continued to increase every year. It is too pathetic to think of a beautiful city when the people living there did not gain an adequate sense of safety and security. Secondly, not everyone in a region is wealthy enough to enjoy the experiences of watching breathtaking drama theatres and strolling around world-class museums since they oftenly require a large amount of cash. For instance, the majority of artistic public sites in Eastern Europe are far from affordable. As a result, those public facilities are only accessible for high-income families. Furthermore, they will later create a wider gap of opportunities between privileged and unprivileged residents. In conclusion, the president and ministries should not spend too much money on musical performances and art exhibitions since they are most likely to bring positive affects for rich people only. Instead, they can direct the cash to improve the basic living needs of their citizens.