Some people say that only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Learning a foreign language for travel purposes or to work overseas is the reason why several people do this. Some societies opine that these are not the main reasons why they learn another language. This essay will try to identify the factors from both of these views, and another opinion may emerge on this. First and foremost, the ability to speak another language when we take a holiday to the destination country makes us more confident while we spend time there. This is one of the reasons why people learn a non-native language. For instance, if we can learn a basic Japanese language prior to visiting, we can easily communicate with the locals while we want to know about their culture and society behind them. Secondly, the opportunity to work abroad is a good chance to gain experience, broaden our knowledge, and also expand our networking because we are working at an international level. This motivates people to learn the international language. For example, if we want to work in Australia, we have to be able to collaborate with people who speak English. That is why learning English is a fundamental skill. In addition, beside both of those reasons, another reason why people are encouraged to learn a foreign language is to understand what is going on outside their country, because all mass media are streaming in international languages. For example, entertainment such as music, movies, politics, and variety shows airs in English, so to enjoy them all, people at least have to learn the English language. In conclusion, the big reason for learning a foreign language is to take a vacation or to work, but another assumption is that society needs to learn it to enjoy the entertainment from overseas.