It is believed that individuals who engage in reading books can cultivate greater imagination and linguistic abilities than those who prefer television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that reading has an indispensable role to play in the enhancement of imagination and language skills. Hence, some people harbour a belief that reading is more helpful to elevate one's imaginative power and language abilities than watching TV, whilst others hold the reverse viewpoint. I am inclined to stand with the sceptics as watching TV provides vivid inputs which will be preferable to both sides. Initially, one of the main arguments for its rejection is that watching TV brings both visual and auditory stimulation which is beneficial to linguistic improvement. For example, movies and series are considered to be efficient media for speaking and listening training since audiences can improve their abilities in pleasant conditions. By contrast, books provide a relatively tedious way to deliver relevant knowledge. These indicate that watching TV indeed has some positive effects on the improvement of language skills. At the other end of the spectrum, visualizing the picture in one's brain can be inspiring such as some impressive scenes on TV which seize audiences' attention and make a direct delivery. As technology develops, the public tends to be stunned by scenes which go beyond imagination. The feasts for eyes and ears not only stimulate people's thoughts but also raise their visions with significant creativities. Therefore, watching TV is more like an inspiration to imagine rather than a restriction. To sum up, both ways have different advantages in developing imagination and linguistic abilities. However, visual and acoustic inputs from TV will strengthen individuals' impressions and result in a more active consequence than reading.