Some people say that traveling to a country is necessary if one want s to become familiar with a new culture. Others, however, feel that technology gives us enough tools to make travel unnecessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been an ongoing discussion among people about whether travelling to a region or online tours can provide us with more information about the different rituals of that community. I think taking a trip would be more beneficial and I’m going to explain it in the rest of this essay. On one hand, advocates of traditional journeys tout their many advantages. Firstly, the technology hasn’t grown that much to replace the actual trip and it may not show small details of traditions. In addition, sometimes you should feel phenomena to understand them and technology lacks it. Secondly, experience can have far more effect on the brain to acquire new things. Besides that, in new situations and new places, those rituals occur repeatedly and make it easier for the brain to adapt to that condition and learn with long-term efficiency. For example, recent investigations have revealed that children can learn a new language 3 times faster if somebody talks to them rather than watching movies on television. Thirdly, travelling helps human spirit to grow and enhance its patience. In Persian, for instance, there is a phrase that says are known in the journey. On the other hand, the issue of visiting other nations has some critics. Governments usually try to earn a lot of money from the tourism industry and it can lead to costly tours for visitors. Besides the high costs of plane and train tickets, daily staff like even a bottle of water can get more expensive for the tourists. However, virtual tours can eliminate all additional fees and allow individuals to experience a foreign trip without spending a lot. In addition, sometimes, like the pandemic period, some places have stringent restrictions for visitors which may make the trip more difficult. However, online travel doesn’t have any limits and is 24/7. For instance, during the COVID-19 pandemic, I learned a lot about Japanese culture merely on the internet. To conclude, despite all the additional expenses, I think real trips can provide us with more details of culture and have more efficiency. However, using technology and the internet in addition to it sharpens our understanding of traditions and rituals.