In the past, most employed people went to a place of work to do their jobs. These days, more and more people are choosing work from home. What are the reasons for this change? Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, employed people prefer to work from home instead of doing an offline job in an office like they did in the past. From my point of view, this condition has occurred as an impact of advanced technology and a wide range of types of jobs. Given that there is an increasing number of people who are doing their occupation from home day by day, I believe that it is included in a negative development for not only individual people but also the government. In terms of the advanced technology in today’s world, usually, many employers prefer to do their work online in their homes instead of going to an office. It is because they think that this way is easier to do and they can have more effective time management. Moreover, the popularity of working from home can be caused by broad types of work that are more likely to be conducted online such as online learning and online shopping. For example, the learning process can be done online since there are numerous digital platforms that can be used. Teachers can conduct online classes by using Zoom application, while students can directly join the online platform to have a class. However, this notion can result in disastrous consequences both for individual people and the government. First and foremost, there will be a destructive impact in terms of health conditions among the citizens. According to Peter, a researcher from The University of Sydney, many workers who do their job online are more likely to suffer from certain illnesses like eye disease and other illnesses. This is because they are normally not getting enough movement compared with what they did in the past when they went to an office to do a job. In other words, they often have a screen addiction as a result of doing work from home with their electronic devices. Furthermore, the government usually have to provide better infrastructures experiencing the trend of working from home. For instance, the government should spend a high expenditure on allocating the need for internet among societies, and this condition can result in a negative impact on the nation’s economy. In conclusion, even though working from home has become popular these days, there are too many disadvantages that are arisen from this case to be considered a positive development.