In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In several countries, there are number of young people has preferred to enroll the work-based study program rather than studying in university. The vocational program seems to be a realistic choice in order to be competitive in the job market, whereas the university education requires higher cost of attendance. Therefore, studying in work-based scheme would bring more advantages rather than disadvantages. Firstly, the vocational school curriculum is mainly focusing on technical skills. Technical skills are very demanded by most of employers since they are hoping for skillful talents. For example, employers' purpose in hiring new talents is to increase productivity and achieve the target. Although these talents still need trainings and introductions, but they will not require a lot of time to be ready for the job. Secondly, while university degree requires a higher cost than work-based program, people will not choose university as the first option. Young people in university are expected to be a person who can think strategically. For instance, if all those young people tend to go to vocational school it will affect the regeneration in managerial positions. This will cause a crisis in organization because many employees cannot be managed by only one manager. In conclusion, many young generation choose to study in vocational school instead of university because of the practical aspect. Even though vocational program has a disadvantage in organization, at least it will produce skillful manpower in order to achive the goals of the company. In addition, the vocational program have been proven in lowering the unemployment rate in underdeveloped countries.