In some countries, many people suffer from health problems due to eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. Do you agree or disagree?

In some nations, the majority of people suffer from illness because of eating too much fast food. Therefore, some people believe that it is crucial for governments to get a higher tax on this type of food. Personally, I agree with this statement. To begin with, it is evident that junk food such as burger and fried chicken are cheap meals that attract people. It leads to the disadvantages for people's bodies. If goverment had made the price higher, more people would have been less interesed to purchase it. Furthermore, this could make the consumption declining, and more people would not buy it. They could avoid the negative effects of the junk food. For instance, in Singapore, KFC and A&W have expensive prices than the healthy food because the governments control the prices and set the rules. Because of this, many young individuals and elderly people can avoid serious disease. On the other hand, it is highly difficult to ensure that public would not buy it since few people do not realise that healthy lifestyle is primary thing to have longer life. Moreover, increasing the tax on junk food means enforcing public to obey the rules which there is a chance, the people would face it as a negative impact. For example, a law in one country declared that the prices for fast food would get higher in the next month. The public got mad because they thought that the governments were being selfish. As a result, the governments decided to keep the same prices for the junk food. In conclusion, it is completely important for governments to pay attention to the public's health, they need to make sure that the people understand the purpose of imposing the higher prices for junk food.